More Non-Muppet-Shaped Muppet Toys

jvcarroll

Reaction score
Well it appears that these are not official product. Reportedly, the company believes the unique, handmade nature of the toy negates the need for Disney authorization. I don't understand that. I'm a commercial artist myself and also managed a collectibles toy store for three years and still don't understand how this sort of thing flies under the radar. Still, I've sold such items through the shop.

If they can get away with it, more power to them. More Muppets is always a good thing. I just want to make it clear to anyone considering these that this is not official Disney merchandise.

Drtooth

Reaction score
That's what I've been saying all along. Fozzie looks too Season 1, and that goes against the grain of style guide enforcement. There have to be some great stories about Palisades clashing with those. I recall them getting absolutely hammered by complaints that Inspector Clouseau looked like the movie title animated form and not that "The Inspector" likeness as a result. I applaud these as an effort, but they look so incredibly homemade. Even well sculpted toys are far more polished and smooth. Like I said, the craft is where the money goes, and why it's a high priced item. I am at a loss why Disney doesn't go for something similar, but less obviously Munny shaped, and not for the Mickey shaped figures or that really ugly expensive Melted Kermit thing.

jvcarroll

Reaction score