Confessing Fears

Flaky Pudding

Reaction score
I have a SUPER embarrassing one to admit. I've questioned whether I should post this or not, because out of all the ridiculous fears and cartoon crushes I've confessed on this forum:this one may take the cake in terms of embarrassment *sigh* here goes:I was scared of the Grateful Dead bears when I was little. No, seriously!? That is not a joke, those cute teddy bear-like things scared me for some reason. I think it may have had something to do with their eyes and mouths (they don't even look human so I can't use the Uncanny Valley excuse to defend this one). Honestly, this one is by far the weirdest thing I was ever scared of as a child. I'm just speculating here but maybe it was because the band name is the Grateful Dead and maybe that made me think they were supposed to be undead bears or something. But I highly doubt it, because they look just like regular old teddy bears. Yeah, I don't have anything else to say about this one.

Flaky Pudding

Reaction score
More things I was scared of:

- most bugs, except for ants, caterpillars, butterflies, and some others (I still don't like bugs, blegh. What's funny is that I loved the show Miss Spider's Sunny Patch.)

- dogs (still not really a dog person)

- thunderstorms (still hate them)

Now for some more "silly" childhood fears:

- the walkaround Chuck E. Cheese costume (I know, I know, that's dumb... But can you really blame a 4 year old?)

- The Arby's oven mitt (that creepy puppet they would use in the old Arby's commercials)

- The Windows XP startup and shutdown sounds (yeah, I dunno why either. :confused:)