Bert and Ernie Gay Rumor: Settled

Canadian Fan

Reaction score
I can't believe that people are still debating whether Bert & Ernie are gay. They were spreading rumors about this when I was in high school, it's been almost 15 years since I graduated. In my opinion, I don't think Bert & Ernie are gay because they are puppets. If Sesame Workshop wants to focus on the LGBT community, they could have human characters portray a same-sex couple, not puppets.

CensoredAlso

Reaction score
Well I think puppet characters could be gay. I just don't think Bert and Ernie are. :wink:

Drtooth

Reaction score
I can't believe that people are still debating whether Bert & Ernie are gay. They were spreading rumors about this when I was in high school, it's been almost 15 years since I graduated. In my opinion, I don't think Bert & Ernie are gay because they are puppets. If Sesame Workshop wants to focus on the LGBT community, they could have human characters portray a same-sex couple, not puppets.
Tinseltown

That is all...

Drtooth

Reaction score
or they could be gay and just friends :frown::stick_out_tongue:
The more I think about it, Ernie just has too much arrested development to be sexually attracted to anything.

And I will not make a rubber duckie joke.

D'Snowth

Reaction score
folks would be surprised to know how many of the main people behind the Muppet Show were in fact gay(Richard Hunt, Kermit Love, etc)
What sources cite Kermit Love being gay? I'm curious, because this is new to me.

dwmckim

Reaction score
I've stated my thoughts on E&B numerous times before (see page 1 of this thread) and don't wish to retread everything (Cliffs Notes version: i'm gay, i believe some Muppet characters could be interpreted as such but E&B aren't among them...they're more about friendship in its highest ideal - true platonic friendship that transcends gender or sexuality.)