An introduction and a question about The Foam Book.

Dagger Claws

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

My name is Marc, and I'm a Chicago native. Although I am not new to the site, I am new as a member to the puppetry board, and I'd like to say hello. I'm a fine art student looking to work with puppetry in theatre after college. What had been an interest when I was still in grade school has now become a more serious (but not TOO serious :wink: ) interest that I hope to make a future out of.

Although I have done some building with puppets, and have even done a few simple foam puppets (no pictures online, but I hope to get some soon) I'd like to educate myself more on using foam. I have heard about Grey Seal's Foam Book and their Nip and Tuck method. Can anyone tell me if their book is worth while, and even if their video series is as well? I'm not looking to make Muppets, but I am looking to be able to use foam more in my work if i can, even if it's just for bodies and apendages.

Thank you all for your time, and I hope to hear and to talk to you all soon. My screen name on AOL is Anima315 and I'm open for IMs.
Take care.

Jinx

Reaction score
The Foam Book/Video

Welcome, Marc!

I have found both the Foam book and accompanying videos to be very much worthwhile. (My avatar shows the first fruits of using their techniques) The book is very useful as a guide to have on the table top while constructing, and the videos demonstrate the concepts quite clearly. The puppet I built is a "3 piece" head, which personally suits my style better. The nip-and-tuck is more of a "sculpting-on-the-fly" method that can yield some pretty incredible results, particularly if you have an aptitude for spontenaeity.