Beginners question..

Nickys mommy

Reaction score
Hi all!!
I am a first grade teacher, and have somehow gotten myself talked into teaching a summer school class to 2nd to 4th graders on puppetry. I know a lot about art, photography, and design, but not much about puppetry and not much about how to teach it to children. In the month-long class, I need to teach them about different kinds of puppets and how to make them, and by the end of the class, we have to put on a show for the parents. Do you have any suggestions on how I should start and what kinds of puppets I can make with the kids?? We have a small budget, although I wish it were a little larger as I'm finding puppetry can be a little expensive, so if you have ideas to keep the cost low, that would be great too!!!
Any advice you may have would be so greatly appreciated!!! :smile:
I know, who better to ask, than the experts!!! :wink:
Thanks so much!!!
Wendy

apendola

Reaction score
Hello,

I've found that the sock puppet pattern at www.projectpuppet.com is a cost effective way to make a nice looking puppet in a small amount of time. I'm not sure wether sewing would be right for them or not however.

Hope that helps

JoeyMuppet

Reaction score
apendola said:
Hello,

I've found that the sock puppet pattern at www.projectpuppet.com is a cost effective way to make a nice looking puppet in a small amount of time. I'm not sure wether sewing would be right for them or not however.

Hope that helps
Yeah,I'd have to agree with you on that.I also think that sock puppet pattern would be the easiest & less expensive ways to do puppets for that age group.

Nickys mommy

Reaction score
Thanks, I just ordered the sock puppet pattern!! I will probably have to do all the sewing for them, but possibly they can do all their own cutting and they can dress their puppet however they like.
I also ordered some scripts for the end of class show, and I did research on history of puppetry for the class.