Custom Figure Resources Questions

muppetlover123

Reaction score
What do you guys use to make your very own figures and how do you make then solid do you bake them....? help!! :smile: thanks

Hubert

Reaction score
I believe that many custom figure making members here use Sculpey to sculpt the figure, and then make the Sculpey as instructed to harden them.

Though I'm no expert, as the only custom figure I've ever sculpted was a head for a Zeke...

muppetlover123

Reaction score
alright thanks i think im going to attempt my own rowlf and maybe a walter and some other characters if i get good... hopefully they turn out ok

muppetlover123

Reaction score
what temperature should i put it for the oven and how long for random modeling clay i have around my house

Hubert

Reaction score
Multiple things: first you have to make sure that the modeling clay can be put in the oven, as it could be air dry or some other method of drying. Second, temps vary based on the clay...if you have the container it came in, there should be instructions on it for specific temperatures.

muppetlover123

Reaction score
oh well i have apperntly one thats wax so it can be reusable... kinda sucks no baking well ill have to wait and buy some sculpey then i can attempt my figures... thanks :smile:

Dearth

Reaction score
For my customs, I generally use Super Sculpey for the new details. Regular Sculpey is a little too creamy for my tastes.

I also *never* bake it, I prefer boiling to cure it, as there is less odor that way, and less risk of damaging the plastic of whatever action figure you've put the Super Sculpey on. The water doesn't even have to literally be boiling, it can just be hot and will do the job, but experiment with it to see. I also generally 'boil' each area of detail as I complete it, rather than try to sculpt an entire figure at once and ruin the details by handling it while still soft.