Different Kinds of Puppets

DriedDragonFly

Reaction score
Hi! I just wanted to introduce myself and talk a little about where I'm coming from. I'm pretty new at puppet making. I've been trying to use as many materials as possible.
I've used paper machie over sculpy clay and syrofoam balls. I have used craft foam over styrofoam balls, and now I'm going to be doing some latex puppets and soft foam puppets. I've been doing this for like a year and a half. Infact this is what I'm going to college for.

Here is a link that has some of my sculpy puppets.

http://groups.msn.com/DuskwoodRI/masksofarcadia.msnw?Page=2

They are much to heavy to use. I might try crayola foam.

Also, I really want to work more on doing voices. I was wondering if anyone had any helpful tips. Thanks :smile:

Stryder Wolfe

Reaction score
that dragon puppet rocks!!! I really like it....

sadly, I have no real advice to give, tho'..

but in any case, welcome aboard!! :big_grin:

puppetguy

Reaction score
Great puppets! The dragon is wonderful! And the pink guy has a lot of character!

You complain about weight, have you ever tried working with foam rubber? Much lighter and really easy to work with once you understand the basics of working with it.

As far as voices, try playing with the pitch of your own voice. Its generally a good idea to give your puppets voices that are close to your own, thereby not straining any of your vocal chords. Really, its a matter of experiementing to find out what is comfortable for your own voice. Try imitating cartoon voices..that's always a good place to start. Listen to Mel Blanc's voices for the Bugs Bunny characters...he's what every voice artist strives to achieve.

Take a look at some of my foam puppet creations: www.allhandsproductions.com
David

DriedDragonFly

Reaction score
Foam Rubber

Are there any online shops that sell foam rubber? puppetguy, your puppets are awsome, now I can't wait to get my hands on some foam rubber. Thanks guys :smile:

puppetguy