Elmo's world "Jingle Bells" controversy

SillyRed

Reaction score
Have you guys noticed that Elmo repeats a topic to the tune of "Jingle Bells"(except the Farm episode)? I think It's funny while some of you think it's stupid. Why did this happen anyway?:smirk:

CookieFan

Reaction score
I dunno, but my 19 mo old has been "singing" it over and over since she was 14 mos and driving me nuts. (It wasn't so bad over the holidays, but sheeeesh!)

I understand why they do the repetition, but don't know why they chose that particular song.

Hays

Reaction score
I'm guessing because the tune is one almost everybody knows, and it's easy to learn, as it's almost all one note.

MuppetQuilter

Reaction score
Possibly because it is public domain and pretty much any words work with the tune.

Hays

Reaction score
Hey, at least y'all can spell controversey (anyway, it looks more right to me than the way I wrote it!)

And I have a degree in English! The nuns would faint!

Fozzie Bear

Reaction score
There was a nun who ran the preschool I went to as a kid, and you could do what you wanted in the classroom or outside and be as loud as you wanted to; but there was NO talking in the halls or cafeteria or bathrooms!!

One day, Monte (my best pal) and I were getting water in the hall and I looked over and said, "It tastes like metal!" in a VERY quiet whisper, and the nun was right behind us and smacked me across my back with a 12" ruler. I thought I had been shot by a cannon!!

There was another nun who would come in, though, who was SOOO sweet and ended up taking over the preschool after the other one left (way after I graduated from there); but, finally, she ended up going to the missions somewhere I think in S America.

I have no idea of her history after that--BUT!

The nuns and the teachers and everyone was impressed with my spelling and reading abilities at such an early age.