I need some ideas for performance routines!

Brian Kendig

Reaction score
I have a Muppet Whatnot named Wendell. Every other Sunday morning, I bring him to breakfast at Give Kids The World (a charity resort here in Orlando for kids with life-threatening conditions), and I go around the tables interacting with kids and bringing them smiles.

He's a BIG hit, but I'm an amateur performer and I am looking for some ideas on how to improve my act!

Here's the setup. The small buffet restaurant has several kid-height tables. Families help themselves to waffles, donuts, French toast, bananas, cereal, that sort of thing - it's all free to guests. I bring Wendell from table to table without hiding myself or trying to be a ventriloquist; think Avenue Q style. I wear dark clothing and Wendell is all oranges and reds and yellows, and I always look at him when I'm doing his voice, so it's easy for the kids to forget about me and focus on the puppet. They love him because he looks similar to what they know from Sesame Street. (Photos of Wendell are at http://www.flickr.com/photos/45858042@N00/3286150287/in/set-72157613984207504/ - that's when I first got him, before I gave him a haircut and repositioned his pupils slightly!) I perform him as friendly and cheerful and interested but easily confused.