I substituted at my old high school today!!

ryhoyarbie

Reaction score
It was my first day of substituting, teaching, or whatever you like to call it. Anyway I subbed for pe today which was first and second period, and for theater in third and forth period. Classes are an 1 and 1/2 hours and the day is from 8:35 am til 3:45 in the afternoon.

It wasn't to bad. I graduated from my high school back in 2000, and kind of fe;t put of place, I was acting as a teacher, but kind of felt like I was still a student.
I saw my old spanish 1 teacher, who I had as a freshman in 1996, and she couldn't believe I was teaching for the day. She said she felt old and that I look to young to be a teacher!

Anyway, first and second period I had to sub for pe, which was in the gym and there was this other guy, a regular coach at the school, who was also my age, who had a class first and second period in the gym and helped me, although it was a free day for the students so all they did was play basketball, tennis, or lift weights.

Third and forth period, I had to sub for a theater teacher. Third period, the students were kind of crazy, since they hadn't had lunch yet, but were still okay. Fourth period the students were better. I even had conversations with some of the students, just talking with them. Felt like I was more of a student.

I also forgot how much junk food students eat, eating chips and cookies, and candy, and drinking coke and sprite, etc. and I also couldn't believe that a lot of students had cell phones with them.

Anyway, the day was pretty good, since it was my first day at the job.

ryan

F

furryredmonster

Awesome!! Be a good teacher now and don't take the cell phones away.... I hate it when that happens!!

AndyWan Kenobi

Reaction score
Congrats! I started student-teaching this week, so I understand how weird it can be to be back in a school again. Keep up the good work!

Ernie101

Reaction score