Looking for some good links on building puppets

Iokitek

Reaction score
Hi I'm new here,

I just started studying the concept of puppetry because I'm planning on making amateur movies with a friend. I noticed puppetry comes in very handy in the field of special FX. Yoda comes to mind for instance.

What I'm looking for are informative links, books, articles and whatever you can think of concerning puppetry. I will simply start by disembowling teddybears etc. myself wich I find at fleamarkets and then try to reasemble them into a simple handpuppet. Later on I plan on trying stick puppets etc.

But eventually I would like to move on to using foam latex or whatever stuff the big guys use. I would very much like some information on this and I was hoping some of you could provide me with it. I hate wasting time though so I'll probably want to start doing this very soon since I do not actually want my puppets to look like puppets.

I know I'm probably not the first newbie to ask for all of this. So maybe you could also direct me to some old posts concerning these issues.

Thanks in advance for all the replies and I'll try to keep you all posted of my activities. I need to make a blog first though.

-Io-

Oh and anything on set and prop building would be great too

atacprez

Reaction score
There are a number of Puppetry websites that can help:
www.puppetsandstuff.com has a lot of info on puppets, scripts, building etc. They are very helful to newbies
The Puppetry Homepage- www.puppetry.info is a more advanced site. Not kept too up to date but they have a great archive that you can access.

Iokitek

Reaction score
Thanks a bunch!

Those links really helped. I bought some clay, plaster and latex and I fashioned a simple head out of the piece of clay. I'm going to make a plaster mold of it, fill it with latex and then poar the excess amount of latex back into the bottle. The result should be a thin layer of latex on the inside wich can be used as the head for a puppet.