Making Full-Bodied Puppet Costumes

charlie bird

Reaction score
''Hallo'' ,my name is Benjamin Johnnston.I am a puppet builder,sadly I dont know how to atach the pictures of my puppets to the fourm. If anyone knows how, please send me a message.Sorry I got alittle off subject.This thread is about making puppets like Big Bird with one hand controlling the head and the other hand controlling the hand of the puppet as a full boddy suit.

I want to make a puppet like that and thoughte some other people knew any thing aboute this type of pupet.I have made manny puppets includding two mascots.I am planning to make a mole puppet simullar to the shape of the big bear from the big blue house.I am an expert at pattern making, so the pattern making part should be easy,exept the boddy suit wich I do not know much aboute how to make on this type of pupppet.Any tips and ideas would be welcomed, as well as coments.

Thank you,BenjaminJohnston

FeLo

Reaction score
I don't know how to make it, but good luck to you, and go to youtube and search for Frank Bearfoot. That is a friend of mine and he made frank all on his own just thought you could check it out

charlie bird

Reaction score
Thank you so much I saw the video and loved it.Awsome puppet by the way is he on the fourm too.If so what's his user name so I can ask him for advice. You realy gave me some good ideas.
Thank you,Benjamin johnston

charlie bird

Reaction score
Does anyone know how to punch fur into fabric and where to buy it. I heard it makes a more life like charecter.I'm thinking about carving the head instead of patterning it.Any advice and coments are highly aprieciated.

charlie bird

Reaction score
For any one wanting to know how to carve a foam puppet or mascot heads look up nicodemus fursuit pages.They have great tutorials.

charlie bird

Reaction score