Puppet Help...

AWDmeister

Reaction score
Okay, before I ask anything, I'm sure I'll get this so... yes, I'm aware of the numerous tutorials out there and I have watched them and have used some for example, and yes, I have read the FAQ on this forum. If there is anything I'm doing wrong, I probably missed it, so I apologize in advance...

With that said... I need serious help with my puppet building...

For the past couple years now, my girlfriend and I have been struggling to create a puppet of my own design. We've gone through copious amounts of foam, contact cement, razors, patterns you name it... Ultimately, we're at a loss... Through several trials and error, we just don't know what we're doing wrong...

We've also asked help from several puppet builders that we know of... most of which wouldn't help, but we recently got tips from someone who was very willing to help, but I fear we've already gotten on their nerves with our questions...

I'm a traditional artist by trade, that being said, I love puppets, I love the way they look, I always wanted to make one. A few years back i was planning to make one for a video series, but I must have tried three or four times before I eventually gave up... our latest puppet seems to have been the closest... but we're not getting the correct shapes despite having several tips on our side... I'm on the verge of commissioning someone to do it for me but I just don't have the funds right now... So we're going to try one last time, begging, PLEADING for help so we can at least feel we accomplished something...

I've been a little shy to reveal my project publicly... but it's come to this so I have to in hopes I can get some help.

This is the original plans of the design I created: