Recommended Arm/Hand Exercises?

Convincing John

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I was wondering about an aspect of puppetry that isn't discussed a whole lot, but it's still important.

With Muppeteers and other puppeteers working with their arms in the air all day, are there certain exercises recommended to keep arms strong and hands nimble?

Obviously, healthy hands are essential for a puppeteer. I've heard that musicians often use some kind of finger exercises to keep their hands in shape. However, not being a musician, I'm not sure if this is true for all musicians.

Lots of different stuff is out there to help strengthen the biceps and improve finger dexterity. I just wondered if there was anything that any puppeteers would recommend. (Didn't Jim have a rowing machine?)

There's lots of different exercise programs out there, but what about aspiring puppeteers? We can't just walk down the street to a "Muppaerobics" class, y'know. :wink:

Any thoughts?

Convincing John

Blink

Reaction score
Convincing John said:
Hi everyone,

...With Muppeteers and other puppeteers working with their arms in the air all day, are there certain exercises recommended to keep arms strong and hands nimble?...

Any thoughts?

Convincing John
Hey Convincing John,

Personally, I don't find that it is actually "hand strength" that I need. I find that it is in fact more important to have loose hands (well stretched; so as to not cramp up). Myself and many of the puppeteers I know just do a variety of basic hand stretches. Shaking out the hands is always a part of that.

In regards to actual strength I have found that it really helps to keep your shoulders and back strong, especially if you have a puppet that is a little heavier that you are used to.

I own weights which I lift.