Silence For Six Years

outerelf

Reaction score
a/n: Hello, newbie here (to this forum, not to writing fanfics in general in case anyone is wondering) with a story that I think you all might like. As for the skit I referenced halfway through, it's here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FnFQevPl_1o

----------

Rowlf had been silent for a long time now. Nearly six years. Such a quiet silence had gone mostly unnoticed- after all, the regular explosions from Beaker and Bunsen’s labs, the cannon exploding in Gonzo’s room, the rats and Pepe’s parties, and various other noises tended to catch Kermit’s attention more effectively then a single silent muppet.

It was just… this was Rowlf. Good old Rowlf, who had known Jim Henson longer then anyone else- even Kermit. And Kermit knew that Rowlf and Jim had been quite close- probably even closer then Jim was with Kermit.

That didn’t mean that Jim favored one above the other- it was just that Rowlf had been Jim’s very first friend, working with Jim ever since 1963. Kermit had come in two years later, in 1965- of course, he had interacted with Jim before, but Rowlf had been Jim’s first major character.

The frog shook his head, dispelling the past.

The main problem is the fact that Rowlf hasn’t spoken for six years. If I didn’t know better… I’d say he’s thinking about never speaking again. The dark thought seized Kermit before he could brush it away.

That brought the frog to a halt outside of a room, a room that had been nearly as silent as Rowlf. No, Rowlf… He’s been appearing in the shows, he just doesn’t talk.

The frog hovered indecisively in front of the door, pondering about whether or not to go in. The piano hadn’t been played for nearly a year now, where once upon a time, its merry tunes could be heard throughout the Muppet Home.

Either way, Rowlf needed to have a good talking too. Or have a good talk, and Kermit was always one willing to lend a shoulder to be cried upon.