To build? Or not to build? That is the question.

Robin

Reaction score
Gonzo

I appreciate how much info I'm getting. I'm not a puppet maker.
I'm a performer and a painter. (I think it would be fun to take a crack at it though)
I have a lot of foam. No tools. What tools would I need? How much would it cost
to pay some one just to sculpt the head for me? or make just the Gonzo head minus the
"movable eye lids"?

Super Scooter

Reaction score
Hmmm. Tools. Pair of scissors. Pair of rounded off scissors (no idea where to get them). Pair of medical scissors (they're really sharp and precise). You can buy those (minus the one) in Jo-ann's frabics and such. You might want a specific type of sander. Not sure what it's called.

scarylarrywolf

Reaction score
This thread REALLY interests me. I was wondering if any of you more experienced builders could fill me in on something about the eyelid mechanism; I've tried making one before in a live-hands puppet -- it was on a string that went all the way from the head to the bottom of his body and I can never use it because I don't have a third hand, obviously (*this is not to discriminate against any of you who may have three hands*). Now, I was thinking that if I were to attach the string to my finger in the mouth of the puppet, I could possibly pull it from in there; but then again he wouldn't be able to lip sync right while I was using it, would he?

Is it generally a bad idea to use such a mechanism in a live-hands puppet? Is there a better way to go about it? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

--"Scary" Larry Wolf

Thijs

Reaction score
Hey Larry! That Larry puppet looks great!

Super Scooter

Reaction score
Actually, that might just work. If you'd notice, Gonzo never actualy uses the blinking mechanism while he's talking. His eyelids open wide before he starts to talk and they can close afterward.