1. Welcome to the Muppet Central Forum!
    You are viewing our forum as a guest. Join our free community to post topics and start private conversations. Please contact us if you need help with registration or your account login.

2. Sesame Street Season 45
    Sesame Street's 45th season officially begins Monday September 15. After you see the new episodes, post here and let us know your thoughts.

3. "Muppets Most Wanted" Fan Reactions
    After you see "Muppets Most Wanted", read fan reactions and let us know your thoughts on the Muppets eighth theatrical film.

Where were you when Jim Henson died?

Discussion in 'Henson People' started by jeffkjoe, Aug 6, 2005.

1. jeffkjoe

jeffkjoe New Member

Where were you when you heard Jim Henson died?

I think it's akin to hearing that Reagan was shot or the Challenger blowing up.

I was a sophomore at Cornell when my mom casually told over the phone, and man was I floored.

The single most influential man of my generation - for me- was gone. The only other time that I felt this way was 14 years later when Fred Rogers passed, and then it hit me that the cultural icons of my childhood were going way, and I really felt aged.
  2. Ernie101

Ernie101 Active Member

I was about 4 years old, I have no idea where I was. Nor did I know that he had died at the time..
  3. Gonzo14

Gonzo14 Well-Known Member

Ernie101, the banner on your post says your 17, like me, so we were 2 when he died, so we wouldn't remember it
  4. doctort13

doctort13 Member

I was at work, and read about his death in the morning newspaper. I was very upset and had a crummy day at work.
  5. Xerus

Xerus Active Member