Can Anybody Be Puppeteer?

Teenager's

Reaction score
Ok, yea. I see that. Good Point.

I also sort of wonder if......without having it taught places are we not pushing puppetry far enough?---Ex...because most of us are self taught are we just circling around with the same ideas and techniques instead of innovating? like innovation is pushed in arts like dance/acting etc..

D'Snowth

Reaction score
BobThePizzaBoy said:
"You must be imaginative, strong-hearted. You must try things that may not work, and you must not let anyone define your limits because of where you come from. Your only limit is your soul. What I say is true - anyone can be a puppeteer...but only the dedicated can be great."

Doesn't that define us so truely?
Indeed, it does.
Buck-Beaver said:
BTW, I am not suggesting you can't be self-taught and be a good puppeteer, just that ineffective puppetry training is usually the fault of the teacher/instructor.
It's true. I self taught myself puppetry, and look where it's got me? Even PROFESSIONALS have trouble critiquing my work because they see little-to-no flaws with it.

dwmckim

Reaction score
Quite a few things to respond to in this thread so far...

First off a shout out to Kids on the Block - i was involved with them in my pre-teens back in the early 80's, nice to hear they're still around and doing what they are!