Top Annoying Misnaming People Do

CensoredAlso

Reaction score
I'm really glad that with the advent of conventions people like voice actors and puppeteers are finally getting the recognition they deserve. For too long people treated them like they weren't "real" actors just because you couldn't see them.

Pinkflower7783

Reaction score
Well since we're on the subject I do agree with Mo in terms of most people do just think its the voice and mouth movement. If they only saw what really goes on behind it I'm sure they'd have a different perspective about it. But puppetry is more foreign to people then one might assume. But the same could be said for animators as well most people think its just drawing on papers not knowing the animator has to actually study the actor doing the voice to get a feel for how to bring it to life. I studied art when I was in college and Mo makes another good point until you've tried it yourself you can't really know what actually goes into it.

CensoredAlso

Reaction score
But puppetry is more foreign to people then one might assume.
That's why I was always so grateful that Jim was so willing to share the behind the scenes experience even with young fans like me. :smile:

But the same could be said for animators as well most people think its just drawing on papers not knowing the animator has to actually study the actor doing the voice to get a feel for how to bring it to life.
Absolutely, as one Disney documentary put it, "animators are actors with a pencil!" Well, puppeteers are actors with a puppet, lol. And I recall the Gorg actors compared their mask and mime work with puppetry. The pencil, puppet and mask is the just the medium you use to create.

Mo Frackle

Reaction score