Frank Oz interview

muppet_dk

Reaction score
Yes that's old news :wink:

There's also one with Jerry and Brian on there. Just do a search and you'll find it.

FragglettesMom

Reaction score
I just read the interview with Frank Oz, very interesting. I am not very good at "searches'. What is the best way for me to access the interviews with Brian and Jerry ? Also, does anyone know if Frank has given any interviews since the Disney takeover?

BWSmith

Reaction score
Goodness. Fozzie has a foul mouth... ;-)

I'm a little struck by several comments:

a) "It was a lot of work"
b) "I never wanted to be pigeonholed"

It's very strange to hear gigs at Sesame Street, the Muppet Show, and Star Wars referred to as a "daily grind", as if he's a coal miner or a cotton picker. To 100 million people who grew up watching Oz's work, he made it look effortless and fun. Whether Oz wants to admit it or not, he was a creative genius in those days, and his work does not in any way resemble the product of man burdened by his occupation.

I would be interested in comparing the tone of this interview with something done in the mid-to-late 80's. You know, before Jim died, back when all those memories weren't so painful.

Oz's tone toward his past Muppet work, and his constant focus on his post-Muppet directing career suggests to me the mentality of a 60-year-old muppeteer who is projecting the physical pain of today's muppeteering and the emotional pain of Jim's death back onto his younger days.

Just my 2 cents...

FragglettesMom

Reaction score
Dear Whatever, Thanks for the interview info. I just got around to reading these two. The interview with Brian was intresting but too short. Do you know if Brian has done any interviews anywhere since the Disney deal ?

dwayne1115

Reaction score
He looked like he was having fun