Making A "Slit" Mouth

Convincing John

Reaction score
Hello, everyone. I'm working on a puppet that will have a mouth that will be just a slit in the foam, like how :confused:'s is.

Is there anyone out there that has made this kind of mouth...and if so, are there any tips or techniques I should follow? I've never built this kind of mouth before.

Convincing John

Buck-Beaver

Reaction score
Just as a general rule you should make the puppet so that the mouth is naturally open, not closed. In my experience mouths work a lot better that way, especially narrower ones.

ravagefrackle

Reaction score
Convincing John said:
Hello, everyone. I'm working on a puppet that will have a mouth that will be just a slit in the foam, like how :confused:'s is.

Is there anyone out there that has made this kind of mouth...and if so, are there any tips or techniques I should follow? I've never built this kind of mouth before.

Convincing John
im guessing you are carving out of foam, if so, then you will need to re-inforce the insidde of the foam mouth area, use some ace bandage or soemthing and glue it in there, then u need to form your mouth plates to fit the area you are using.

good luck,

mouths like this are not as durable as normal ones so be prepared for repairing it after hard use.

bunsen is always checked after performances.

Convincing John

Reaction score
Hey, thanks, guys!

An open mouth...makes sense. It'd probably be more flexible too.

Reinforcing the interior of the head...yeah I'll look into that. Even though this puppet wont get a lot of hard use, I'll take your advice on using a bandage on the inside of the mouth.

And oh yeah, you're right, it's being made from foam.

Convincing John

D'Snowth

Reaction score