Need help making a foam puppet

Gregwwd

Reaction score
Hello, This ism y first time posting and Ive been on here for about 3 hours just reading many threads and trying to learn some things about puppets. Ive been messing with puppets for about 9 years here and there and I have one very old foam puppet thats my favorite but he's on his way out. I would love to be able to build a new one of him (recreate him so to speak) but I really dont even know where to get started. I purchased a book on foam building today on line and have been searching on here to see what you guys say about how to build a foam puppet, I know it won't be easy. I honestly have no idea where to get foam?? Do furniture stores sell it, arts and craft stores?? ...is there a standard type of foam to ask for polyfoam?? scott foam?? And is it readily available in block form?? i hate to sound like the newbie novice but I truly am slightly cluless, but I'm a creative talented guy who would love to get more involved with puppetry, so anyone who can help me out a bit, it would be greatful! Thanks, Greg

Buck-Beaver

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum!

There are a number of different approaches to building a foam puppet, and most of them have been discussed here in past threads. You might want to check out the ones listed below under "Similar Threads".

I have a tutorial online for what I've dubbed the "wedge method" at http://www.bear-town.com/backstage_pages/tumbles_intro.htm

Another decent step-by-step tutorial can be found at http://www.nicodemus.org/fursuit.cgi?puppet-one

PuppetPlant has been amassing a large collection of links to puppet building info at http://www.puppet-planet.com/Build Your Own.htm