To the fellas here who have worked in Cable Access

Ryan

Reaction score
Hey all,
I am desperatley trying to get a small 5 minute (or so) puppet show on a local cable access station. Unfortunatley, Philadelphia is one of the only cities w/o cable access. I have a few questions about going about doing this:
1. Is there an age requirement?
2. Can the shows be sent to a close city near by? (not in yours? Again, no cable access in Philly)
3. How much is the fee to broadcast your stuff?
4. Do you choose your airtime and date?

Any other info is deeply appreiciated. If any of you can help me, please do. I really wanna start doing some more stuff with my hobby/(hopefully) soon to be career. :smile:

Thanks,

video567

Reaction score
hi im not an expert on this but i did take a few classes through our cable company. all they requiere you is to be certified in using their equipment. I'm not fully certified bacause i stop going to the classes due to other responsibilities. there is really no age requierement only thing is if you are under 18 your parent has to sign a concent form /or come with you to the work centers.

the shows can be sent to other cities as long as the city has cable access network and they are certified through the cable company. for example if i would have finished the classes you could have sent me a copy of the tape and i could run it here in our cable company.

there is no fee atleast where im at to do a cable access show.

as for date and time thats the hard part depends on how many people are doing shows and what days they have chosen. you pretty much get what you can get. i know a guy that had a show fora few years and he had a regular time slot bacause he was established withthem and recorded his show every tuesday at the cable company and was airded every friday at 10pm

but thats kinda rare.