View "The Dark Crystal" in Boston this Saturday!

John Takis

Reaction score
Hey, folks! Wish I'd been able to give everyone more of a heads-up on this, but I just found out mere hours ago myself! I'm new to the Boston area, and while doing a local Yahoo Movies search, imagine my surprise when "The Dark Crystal" popped up! Yep, the Coolidge Corner Theater's "Midnite Movies" series this month is focusing on '80s fantasy films.

"The Dark Crystal" was shown to a crowd of about 30 people tonight (Friday at midnight ... or would that be Saturday at midnight?) and will be shown again tomorrow at the same time. Here's my take on the experience.

PROS:
1. The audience -- seeing this film with an audience for the first time was just fantastic ... and this was a great crowd, because, while small, they were there because they knew and loved the film.
2. The theater -- I swear, I thought I was sitting in the Muppet Theater! Huge screen, red curtains, the atmosphere ... all it lacked was a booth for Statler and Waldorf. I have a feeling I'll be giving this place a LOT of patronage.
3. The movie -- WOW! The sheer SCALE of this film was amazing! I was noticing tons of things I'd never noticed, and dazzled by the sheer scope of it all. I've watched the DVD probably a dozen times or more, but this was something else!

CONS (sort of):
1. This was an ancient print, so there was lots of dirt. Color varied from reel to reel. I'm not complaining though ... the overall experience MORE than made up for it.
2. The sound, while magnificent (except for a few drop-outs) was cranked up just slightly too loud. Still, better too loud than too soft. And while it was grating during fight scenes, or when the Skesis' are all screaming at each other, I appreciated the extra "oomph" during the Great Conjunction, and when Trevor Jones' awesome score is carrying the moment. I like to be overwhelmed by a film, and this did the job.

In short: best $6 I've spent this summer!