What do you do with your puppets?

Puppetainer

Reaction score
Okay, I've been coming to this site for almost 3 years now and have been working on and off on making puppets of my own for some of that time. My question to all of my fellow puppet lovers is what do you do with the puppets you make? Are you doing puppetry somewhere? Do you plan on starting to do some puppeteering someplace? Do you sell them? Or do you just like having furry friends around for company?

I'm creating them because I want to start a puppet theater here in Wisconsin with my wife. Haven't quite figured out where we'll get all the money that will require, but I thought it would be kind of important to get my puppet building/performing skills up to speed in the mean time. (Also, I have to admit I like having furry friends around for company) :smile:

staceyrebecca

Reaction score
I started making puppets because we needed them for shows. Then I got ideas and wanted to see them in puppet form. Then an art gallery asked me to make some for them (seriously, to this day I have no idea why!). Then a friend told me that I should start selling them online. All of that funds my making of more puppets for shows which funds making more puppets. I do keep quite a few around. Some simple ones I just absolutely won't part with & some huge ones that I'm so ashamed of I hide in a big box for no one to see ever again. Some I give away to someone who will really appreciate a puppet. My mom, for instance.

Puppetainer

Reaction score
Okay staceyrebecca (I'm not at all surprised that you're the first to respond!) you say that you built them for "shows". What shows? Where and for whom do you do performances? As someone who is driving towards making a (meager) living through puppetry I'm VERY interested in hearing about people who already are.

staceyrebecca

Reaction score
(cowers just a little) I get notices in my email...I'm sorry, it lets me know every time there's a message...*hides*