Your Thoughts: Sesame Street Season 40

Mupp

Reaction score
I know that this thread has been around for a while, and this is my first time here, but I just wanted to share my thoughts;

Generally, I have enjoyed season 40. Unlike previous seasons, this season we have seen many more appearances of the more classic characters such as Big Bird, Oscar, Snuffy, the Count, Cookie Monster, and Grover.
For example, I was glad to see that Cookie Monster and Big Bird were involved with the "Stinky's Birthday" storyline.

I have to say that I have gotten somewhat used to the "new" Zoe, but I really would love to see her back to here "old" self.

Also, I do like the new "tune in" spots with Murry, and this may sound odd to some, but I do like Abby's Flying Fairy School. I think its a cute segment for children and I like the new characters. I also love the fact that the character's mouths are animated as if there was a hand inside their head like a real puppet.

The only thing that I cannot sit through is Elmo's World. I do respect the fact that lots of children love him, and that apparently the segment has to be part of the show to hold the attention spans of young children, but I still cannot stomach the segment.

I also don't mind Bert and Ernie's Great Adventures (yes, I know that it started last season) because they still show puppet Ernie and Bert segments. Although that does lead me to one of my only issues with season 40;
no new Ernie and Bert skits.
I realize that part of the reason of their absence is because Steve and Eric have been busy with their Muppet Show characters, that's why I'm hoping that they will have time to perform Ernie and Bert for season 41.

Oscarfan

Reaction score
I agree with the last thing you said. There were several ones taped around 2002 and 2006 that have yet to air on the American show, but are playing on the foreign co-productions, why can't they use those?

Drtooth

Reaction score