Elmo's World-free episodes don't go over

wwfpooh

Reaction score
The point of the matter is, SS wants to change back to the glory days... but they smurfed themselves royally, and can't change out of fear of losing that audience.
Well, if they hadn't of caved in the first place, we wouldn't have this problem, honestly.

SSLFan

Reaction score
Yeah. I always thought they should've just shown EW on Fridays. It could be sort of a "treat" for the kiddies.

Wow, that was random, Lol.

wwfpooh

Reaction score
Sort like of the special line at the end of Mr. Rogers' "Good Feeling" song.

ISNorden

Reaction score
Personally, I have always felt EW should be a standalone show for younger audiences.
Elmo's World is a standalone show in every other country that broadcasts it, if I recall correctly; it's only the American version that gets "bundled" with Sesame Street. I'm no expert on children's TV, but I suspect that happened because the foreign Sesame productions (when they exist) are still geared towards older viewers than the US version. As long as that's true, Sesame Workshop will think of "spinning off" Elmo's World as financial suicide over here; the smaller the audience gets, the fewer corporations are willing to fund Sesame Street.

I agree with Norden here... it is basically 90% fluff. I do like the E-mail segment and the cartoon channel inserts, and the occassional wisecrack from Elmo... but do we REALLY need to ask a baby how it uses a tissue? Especially since all it does is drool and grab Elmo's nose?
Get out of my head, Drtooth! :smile: If I were a producer for the show, I'd cut that "ask a baby" part out and not care who missed it. Considering that most of the audience is barely three years old--do they really need to see another kid their age or younger sit there, not really caring or teaching anything? They won't be ready for school if they think that just sitting there and looking cute will earn them good grades.