*Sigh* It's That Time of the Decade Again...

Drtooth

Reaction score
My PBS hasn't had a pledge drive in three years.
My PBS hasn't had a pledge drive in over three seconds.

As far as government funding for the arts - as an artist I say yes. That shouldn't be the primary funding source, but a country that doesn't publicly invest in the arts is one that's lost its soul, its heart, its beauty, sense of history and self.

That's what I say. It isn't the priority funding source, nor should it be. But we always need to have the government sponser things like this to give us a more well rounded culture. But that's not what Joe Conservitive Tax Payer thinks...

But you know what? We, as the tax paying public don't have a say in what our taxes go to. I mean, when it comes down to PBS? What's that? Like less than a dollar of everyone in the county's total tax fund? I don't want my taxes paying for a war I didn't want, a meal I can't eat, or projects that go unfinnished that I can't enjoy. At least with PBS, we get our hands in something we can all enjoy.

Then we get the old argument that Sesame Street can hold itself on a commercial netork. Nothing, and I mean it, could be further from the truth. You think all the changes that they had to make to keep the show going on PBS (Elmo's World, Journey to Ernie, etc) were bad, think of what would happen if it was on a regular commercial station. It would be broadcast at some terrible hour of the day, the show would be cheaply produced, all to fill a standard FCC ruled 3 1/2 hours a week of TV E/I Programming.